

## MacDonald elected CYSA president for 2011-2012

(Toronto, Ontario – November 10, 2011) Prince Edward Island business and agriculture leader John J. MacDonald has been elected president of the Canadian Young Speakers for Agriculture board of directors for 2011-2012.

Board elections were held at the organization's annual general meeting Sunday, November 6 in Mississauga.

"John MacDonald's election to the office of president is a red-letter day for CYSA," says board chair D. E. Ted Young. "John is an extremely well qualified for the position and is one of the most respected, well-rounded youth leaders in Canada. His past experience with Canadian 4-H Council, Canadian Federation of Agriculture, and his many years as a CYSA Inc. director makes him a valuable resource in this role. John has the vision and ability to take this competition to a new level."

Indeed, MacDonald has a long history of business involvement in Prince Edward Island, most recently as general manager of the greater Summerside Chamber of Commerce from which he recently retired after 15 years. He was a recipient of the Queen's Jubilee Medal, a PEI Institute of Agrologists' recognition award, and served as president of the PEI Federation of Agriculture and the PEI United Way.

Additionally, MacDonald is Past President of Canadian 4-H Council, and currently serves as a trustee on the Canadian 4-H Foundation Board. The Canadian Young Speakers for Agriculture program receives funding from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada through the Canadian 4-H Council.

"I'm very honoured to be elected president of CYSA," says MacDonald. "With the board's support, we will continue to work together to make sure young Canadians have the opportunity to express their public speaking abilities at the top level in Canada."

J.C. (Clare) Rennie remains honourary chair of the competition. Adam Meyer (Ontario) will serve as past-president of the board.

Others elected to the board include vice-president Kim McCaw (Ontario) and directors Brian Innes (Ontario), Richard Kuntz (Saskatchewan), Anne McGee (Ontario), Anna Marie O'Connell (Ontario), Owen Roberts (Ontario), April Stewart (Quebec) and Marie Winter (Ontario).

Nominations were reviewed from prospective directors in Newfoundland and British Columbia and will be discussed further at the board's next regular meeting, pending additional information from the candidates.

The board also voted to create a new position called youth director, intended to be a liaison between the board and past participants of the CYSA competition. The senior winner of the competition will automatically be offered the youth director's position every year.

The board accepted the resignations of Eric Dalke, Rebecca Hannam and John McGee, and thanked them for their many contributions. Dalke and Hannam are past winners of the senior competition.

-30-

For more information, contact Ted Young at 519-546-5053 or Tedyoung@cysa-joca.ca